Hevy vs Caliber (2026): Pro vs Plus Pricing, Free Limits, Verdict
Hevy vs Caliber (Sept 2026): Hevy Pro is $23.99/yr or $74.99 lifetime; Caliber Plus is $36–$72/yr; coaching starts near $200/mo. Free limits and verdict.
SensAI Team
15 min read
Get a training plan that adapts to your recovery — free on iOS
Hevy and Caliber both look like free strength trackers from the outside. You log sets, you watch your numbers climb, you pay only if you want more.
Look closer and they are built on different ideas. Hevy is a logger with a social feed and a cheap Pro tier. Caliber is a coaching company that gives away its training app, sells coach-designed plans on top, and then sells a human coach on top of that.
That difference decides almost everything below: what the free tier gives you, where custom exercises sit, who writes your program, and what you end up paying over three years. Every price and limit here was checked against the App Store, Google Play or the company’s own pages in September 2026.
The short answer
Pick Hevy if you write your own program and want the cheapest capable logger: Pro is $2.99/month, $23.99/year or $74.99 lifetime, with Apple Watch, Wear OS and web support. Pick Caliber if you want coach-designed plans (Plus, $36–$72/year) or a real human coach, which starts at around $200/month. Neither app’s own programming reads HRV or sleep.123
| Hevy | Caliber | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Workout logger with social feed and algorithmic Trainer | Free training app plus paid plans and human coaching |
| Paid tier price (US) | Pro: $2.99/mo, $23.99/yr, $74.99 lifetime2 | Plus: $9–$12/mo, $36–$72/yr (several SKUs listed1) |
| Human coaching | Not sold; your own trainer can use Hevy Coach software4 | Premium Coaching, 3-month program from ~$200/mo3 |
| Free tier | Unlimited logging; 4 routines, 7 custom exercises, 3-month graphs56 | Unlimited workouts, 800+ exercises, tutorials, friend Circles1 |
| Custom exercises | 7 free; unlimited on Pro7 | Listed under Caliber Plus, no published cap1 |
| Who writes the program | You, or Hevy Trainer (Pro algorithm8) | You (free), 120+ coach-designed plans (Plus), or your coach (Premium1) |
| Exercise library | 400+ exercises7 | 800+ exercises1 |
| Watch apps | Apple Watch and Wear OS29 | No Apple Watch app listed; iPhone app only on iOS1 |
| Health data | Exports workouts to Apple Health2 | Reads Apple Health / Health Connect; posts strength workouts to Strava110 |
| Web app | Yes, hevy.com4 | None documented |
| App Store rating | 4.9 from 94K ratings2 | 4.8 from 6K ratings1 |
| Google Play rating | 4.9 from ~269K reviews, 5M+ installs9 | 4.6 from ~4.1K reviews, 500K+ installs10 |
Ratings and prices checked on the US App Store and Google Play, 24 September 2026. Both listings carry more than one price for the same plan, so check the checkout screen on your device.
Hevy vs Caliber: which is better for strength training?
For a lifter who already follows a program, Hevy is the better strength tracker: it is cheaper, runs on more devices and gives you a watch app. Caliber is better for strength training when you want someone else to design the program, whether that is a prebuilt coach plan on Plus or a personal coach reviewing your lifts every week.21
Think of it as a notebook versus a gym with a notebook attached. Hevy is an excellent notebook. Caliber hands you the same notebook for free, then asks whether you would like the trainer too.
Both handle the part that makes strength training work, which is progressive overload you can see. The research on why logging matters is concrete. In Dr. Brad Schoenfeld’s dose-response meta-analysis at Lehman College, each extra weekly set per muscle was associated with a 0.37% larger gain in muscle size, a graded relationship across 15 studies.11 You cannot manage weekly sets you never wrote down, and either app records them.
Where they diverge is who decides what the next session is. On Hevy that is you, or the Pro-only Trainer algorithm. On Caliber it is you on the free tier, a coach-built plan on Plus, or a person on Premium Coaching. The rest of this comparison is really about that choice.
How much do Caliber Plus, Caliber coaching and Hevy Pro cost in 2026?
Hevy Pro costs $2.99/month, $23.99/year or $74.99 once for lifetime access. Caliber Plus is listed at $9–$12/month or $36–$72/year, plus a $3/month “Caliber Supporter” SKU. Caliber’s 1-on-1 Premium Coaching is sold separately as a 3-month program that starts at around $200/month.213
| Plan | Monthly | Yearly | One-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hevy Free | $0 | $0 | — |
| Hevy Pro | $2.99 (a $3.99 SKU is also listed2) | $23.992 | $74.99 lifetime2 |
| Caliber Free | $0 | $0 | — |
| Caliber Plus | $9 or $121 | $36, $54 or $721 | — |
| Caliber Premium Coaching | From ~$200, as a 3-month program3 | — | — |
Caliber’s App Store listing shows three different yearly Plus prices at once. That usually means introductory or promotional offers, so expect to see one of them, not choose between them.1
Premium Coaching is not an App Store purchase. Caliber sells it through a consultation on its website, and its own sign-up flow states the program “is structured as a 3 month program and the price starts at around $200 per month,” with the money back if you don’t get results.3 Its FAQ adds a 30-day money-back guarantee and says it accepts credit cards and PayPal.12
Here is what that looks like over time:
| Option | 1 year | 3 years |
|---|---|---|
| Hevy Free or Caliber Free | $0 | $0 |
| Hevy Pro, yearly | $23.99 | $71.97 |
| Hevy Pro, lifetime | $74.99 | $74.99 |
| Caliber Plus, yearly | $36–$72 | $108–$216 |
| Caliber Premium Coaching (at the ~$200/mo starting price) | ~$2,400 | ~$7,200 |
Coaching rows multiply Caliber’s stated starting price; your quote depends on the package. Taxes and regional pricing not included.
Two conclusions fall out. Hevy Pro lifetime costs about the same as three years of Hevy yearly, so it only makes sense if you’re sure you’ll stay. And Caliber’s coaching is a different purchase entirely, closer to a personal trainer than to an app subscription.
What do the Hevy and Caliber free tiers include?
Both free tiers let you log unlimited workouts forever. Hevy free caps you at 4 routines, 7 custom exercises and 3 months of graph history. Caliber free gives unlimited workouts, 800+ exercises with video tutorials, friend Circles and Apple Health sync, but puts coach-designed plans, custom exercises and supersets behind Plus.561
| Feature | Hevy Free | Caliber Free |
|---|---|---|
| Workout logging | Unlimited | Unlimited1 |
| Saved routines | 45 | Unlimited workouts you create1 |
| Custom exercises | Up to 77 | Plus only1 |
| Supersets | Yes, as a set label2 | Plus only1 |
| Progress graphs | 3 months back6 | Not specified; “personalized progress tracking” and Strength Score are Plus1 |
| Premade programs | Routine library; Trainer is Pro8 | 120+ coach plans are Plus1 |
| Social | Feed, follows, copy routines2 | Private Circles and public communities113 |
| ChatGPT / Claude connection | Yes142 | Yes1 |
| Ads | None listed | None listed |
The walls sit in different places, so the right free app depends on how you train.
If you run a fixed split, say push/pull/legs plus an upper day, Hevy free covers you: four routines is enough, and the exercises you need are almost certainly in the library. The wall you hit first is the 3-month graph window, which Pro lifts to all-time.6
If you want to build lots of different workouts, Caliber free is more generous, with no routine cap written into the listing.1 The catch comes the day you need an exercise the library doesn’t have, or want to pair two lifts as a superset. Both are Plus features.
Does Caliber or Hevy allow unlimited custom exercises?
Hevy is the only one of the two that says so in writing: free accounts can store up to seven custom exercises, and Hevy Pro allows unlimited custom exercises for $2.99/month. Caliber lists custom exercise creation as a Caliber Plus feature and does not publish a numeric limit, so free Caliber users should plan on its 800+ built-in exercises.71
This matters more than it sounds. Custom exercises are how you log the cable attachment your gym invented, a specific machine, or a variation your coach prescribed. The moment you can’t log a movement, your history has holes in it.
If unlimited custom exercises is your main requirement, here is how the usual shortlist compares on documented facts:
| App | Custom exercises | Library size | Cheapest paid year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hevy | 7 free, unlimited on Pro7 | 400+7 | $23.992 |
| Caliber | Plus feature, no published cap1 | 800+1 | $361 |
| Strong | “Add your own,” free logging with 3 routines15 | Not stated | $29.99 standard15 |
| JEFIT | Custom exercises and workouts16 | 1,400+16 | $69.99 Elite standard16 |
So the honest answer to “is Caliber the right choice for unlimited custom exercises, or should I look at JEFIT or Strong?” is this. Caliber can do custom exercises, but you pay for Plus and it never promises “unlimited.” Hevy Pro does, in writing, for less money. JEFIT has the biggest built-in library, so you may need fewer custom entries at all.
Which one programs your workouts for you?
Caliber, if you pay. Caliber Plus unlocks 120+ coach-designed training plans “built for progressive overload,” and Premium Coaching gives you a coach who writes and adjusts your plan weekly. Hevy’s programming is Hevy Trainer, a Pro-only algorithm that raises the weight after you hit the top of your rep range on every set.113128
Hevy describes Trainer as “an adaptive strength programming system based on a sophisticated algorithm.” It asks about your experience, goal, equipment, frequency, session length and any muscle you want to emphasize, then follows a simple rule: “You must hit the upper end of the rep range with a specific weight on all prescribed sets for Trainer to increase it.”8
That is double progression, a rule coaches have used for decades, and it works for most lifters. It is also mechanical. It won’t ask why a lift stalled.
Caliber’s plans work differently. A coach wrote them in advance, and you pick one that fits your goal, experience and schedule.1 Caliber’s product page says the plans are designed by accredited Caliber coaches and built for progressive overload.13 We found no documentation of an algorithm that changes your working weights from session to session, so treat a Plus plan as a well-built template rather than a live coach.
One useful tool works in either app: reps in reserve. Dr. Michael Zourdos of Florida Atlantic University and colleagues, including Eric Helms of the Sports Performance Research Institute New Zealand, validated an RPE scale in which RPE 9 means one rep left in the tank. They concluded it is “a practical method to regulate daily training load.”17 Write your RIR in the exercise notes and you add daily autoregulation to any plan, templated or not.
A third route, disclosed because it’s ours: SensAI writes the program itself, adapting it through conversation and your logged workouts. It sits between Hevy Trainer’s fixed rule and a $200/month human coach.
Is Caliber worth it for its human coaching?
Caliber’s coaching is worth it if accountability and form feedback are what you’re missing, and supervised training has real evidence behind it. At roughly $200/month to start, it costs about 100 times more per year than Hevy Pro, so it only makes sense if you’ll use the weekly reviews, video form checks and messaging.31218
What you get, per Caliber’s own FAQ: a coach who checks in several times a week, a full weekly review of your training, video form reviews, and messaging with replies “within a few hours.” Caliber says it hires about 1% of coaches who apply.12 It also claims members improve body composition by 20% or more within 12 weeks on average, and backs that with a refund. That is Caliber’s own figure, not an independent study.1
The case for paying for supervision is stronger than most app comparisons admit:
- A 12-week trial at Ball State’s Human Performance Laboratory (Mazzetti, Kraemer and colleagues) gave moderately trained men identical programs, with or without a personal trainer. The supervised group lifted heavier loads, progressed faster, and finished with greater squat and bench press 1RMs.18
- Dr. Nicholas Ratamess of The College of New Jersey found that women who trained with a personal trainer chose loads averaging about 51% of their 1RM, compared with about 42% for women who trained alone.19
- A 2017 meta-analysis in Sports Medicine (Lacroix, Granacher and colleagues) found supervised resistance and balance training improved strength and power more than unsupervised programs in adults aged 65 and older.20
The pattern is consistent: people training alone tend to pick weights that are too light. Those studies involved in-person trainers. Caliber’s coach watches your videos and your logged numbers, not your live set, so expect some of that benefit, not all of it.
Jared Cluff, Caliber’s co-founder and CEO, described the founding idea to TechCrunch: “They saw that more than anything, people need expert guidance and a really genuinely personalized plan for their fitness routine.”21 That’s the pitch. What you have to decide is whether a person is the part you’re missing, or just a better program.
Which works better with Apple Watch, Android and wearables?
Hevy, clearly, for watches: it ships Apple Watch and Wear OS apps with live phone sync, plus a web app at hevy.com. Caliber runs on iPhone and Android but lists no Apple Watch app. Caliber is stronger on incoming data, reading cardio, nutrition, steps and body stats from Apple Health or Health Connect.294110
| Hevy | Caliber | |
|---|---|---|
| iPhone | Yes | Yes1 |
| Android | Yes9 | Yes10 |
| Apple Watch app | Yes, with routines, heart rate and live sync2 | Not listed1 |
| Wear OS app | Yes9 | Not listed |
| Web | hevy.com4 | None documented |
| Apple Health | Exports workouts2 | Syncs cardio, nutrition, steps, body stats1 |
| Health Connect | Not listed | Yes10 |
| Garmin | Not listed | Via Apple Health22 |
| Nutrition apps | — | Cronometer direct; MyFitnessPal and FatSecret via Apple Health22 |
| Strava | Not listed | Auto-uploads strength workouts (since Dec 20251) |
If you want to leave your phone in the locker, Hevy is the only real choice of the two.
Caliber’s data flow runs the other way. It pulls in what your wearable and food app collect, so a coach can see your whole week. That is useful on Premium Coaching, where a person reads it.
Neither app’s own programming uses recovery data like HRV or sleep. Hevy Trainer’s documented inputs are experience, goal, equipment, frequency, duration and muscle focus.8 Caliber doesn’t describe its plans as reading recovery metrics either. SensAI’s coach does use Apple Health data, including HRV, sleep and resting heart rate, and works with Apple Watch, Garmin, Oura and WHOOP through Apple Health.23 It is iPhone-only, though, so on Android the choice stays between Hevy and Caliber.
Do Hevy and Caliber have AI features in 2026?
Yes, and both added them this year. Both now connect your training history to ChatGPT or Claude rather than building an AI coach into the app. Caliber launched an MCP server for ChatGPT and Claude in July 2026. Hevy replaced its old HevyGPT with a Hevy app for ChatGPT and added a one-tap send-to-ChatGPT-or-Claude button in September 2026.1142
| Date | App | Change |
|---|---|---|
| Oct 2025 | Caliber | Workout data export added1 |
| Dec 2025 | Caliber | Automatic upload of strength workouts to Strava1 |
| May 2026 | Caliber | Progress section rebuilt with custom charts1 |
| Jul 20, 2026 | Caliber | MCP server for ChatGPT and Claude (Menu > Connected Apps1) |
| By Sep 2026 | Hevy | Hevy app for ChatGPT replaces HevyGPT, free on all accounts14 |
| Sep 3, 2026 | Hevy | Send finished workouts to ChatGPT or Claude from the finish screen2 |
Hevy says the ChatGPT app can “generate tailored training plans, analyze your progress and trends, or simply ask for a perfect next workout based on previous performance,” and that it is “freely available to all of our users.”14
The pattern is the same in both apps. The logger holds your data, and a general-purpose chatbot does the thinking in a separate window. That works, but the chatbot only sees what you export to it, and the plan it writes is not the one running in the app.
Caliber alternatives: Caliber vs Strong, Fitbod and JEFIT
Strong is the closest match to Hevy: a clean logger with a free tier, $29.99/year. Fitbod generates every workout for you but has no permanent free tier ($95.99/year). JEFIT has the largest library at 1,400+ exercises ($69.99/year Elite). None of them sells a human coach, which is the one thing only Caliber offers.152416
| App | Category | Standard US price | Free tier | App Store rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hevy | Logger + algorithm | $23.99/yr; $74.99 lifetime2 | Yes, capped | 4.9 (94K2) |
| Caliber | Free app + plans + human coach | Plus $36–$72/yr; coaching from ~$200/mo13 | Yes | 4.8 (6K1) |
| Strong | Logger | $4.99/mo, $29.99/yr, $99.99 forever15 | Yes, 3 routines15 | 4.9 (109K15) |
| Fitbod | Workout generator | $15.99/mo, $95.99/yr24 | Trial only24 | 4.8 (285K24) |
| JEFIT | Logger + big library | $12.99/mo, $69.99/yr Elite16 | Yes16 | 4.8 (47K16) |
| SensAI | Conversational AI coach | $6.99/mo, $69.99/yr23 | 7-day free trial23 | 4.6 (3423) |
US App Store, checked 24 September 2026. Strong, Fitbod and JEFIT also list discounted or legacy SKUs.
Caliber vs Strong: Strong is a pure logger with an excellent Apple Watch app; its free version saves unlimited workouts but limits you to 3 custom routines.15 Pick Strong for fast, private, watch-first logging. Pick Caliber if you want premade plans or a coach. Our Hevy vs Strong comparison covers that matchup in depth.
Caliber vs Fitbod: Both take programming off your plate, in different ways. Fitbod’s app generates your workouts for you from a library of 1,000+ exercises.24 Caliber Plus gives you a fixed plan written by a coach. Pick Fitbod if you want variety decided for you; pick Caliber if you’d rather follow a structured plan. See our Fitbod review for what its subscription buys.
JEFIT is worth a look if library size matters most. Our JEFIT vs Hevy breakdown compares the two loggers directly.
SensAI is the option for people who want the program written and adjusted for them without paying for a human coach. You talk to the coach in plain language (“I tweaked my shoulder - adjust my week”), it rewrites the plan, and it factors in your Apple Health recovery data.23 The trade-offs are real: iPhone only, no permanent free tier, and a rating based on only 34 reviews. Our SensAI review covers where it falls short.
Who should pick Hevy, and who should pick Caliber?
Pick Hevy if you self-program, lift on Android or Wear OS, want to log from your wrist, or want to pay once and be done. Pick Caliber if you want premade coach-designed plans, plan to add a human coach later, or want nutrition and wearable data pulled into one place for that coach.21
Choose Hevy if you:
- Already follow a program such as 5/3/1, PPL or GZCL and just need to log it
- Want an Apple Watch or Wear OS app, or a web view on your desktop
- Need more than a handful of custom exercises and want “unlimited” in writing ($23.99/year)
- Like a social feed for accountability
Choose Caliber if you:
- Want a coach-designed plan instead of building your own (Plus, $36–$72/year)
- Want the option of a human coach who reviews your form videos and your week (from ~$200/month)
- Log food in Cronometer or MyFitnessPal and want it next to your training
- Post your lifts to Strava
Consider neither if what you actually want is a program that changes with your recovery and your feedback without a trainer’s price. That’s the gap an AI coach like SensAI tries to fill. If you’re weighing AI coaches against human ones, our roundup of AI personal trainer apps compares Caliber’s coaching with the AI options side by side.
Whatever you pick, the app matters less than whether you keep using it. A meta-analysis of randomized trials led by Amelia Romeo at the University of South Australia found physical activity apps gave only a modest, non-significant boost to daily steps overall, and worked best over periods shorter than three months.25 The app that fits how you already train is the one you’ll still be opening next year.
Frequently asked questions
Is Caliber better than Hevy?
Better for people who want someone else to write the program. Caliber offers coach-designed plans on Plus and a human coach on Premium. Hevy is better for self-programmers: it is cheaper ($23.99/year), has Apple Watch and Wear OS apps, and puts unlimited custom exercises in writing.127
Is the Caliber app free?
Yes. Caliber’s free version includes unlimited workout creation and tracking, 800+ exercises with video tutorials, friend Circles, Apple Health sync and a ChatGPT/Claude connection. Coach-designed plans, Strength Score, custom exercises and supersets require Caliber Plus.1
How much does Caliber Plus cost?
The US App Store lists Caliber Plus at $9 or $12 per month and $36, $54 or $72 per year, as of September 2026. The multiple yearly prices suggest promotional offers, so check the price in the app.1
How much does Caliber coaching cost?
Caliber’s sign-up flow says Premium Coaching is a 3-month program with a price that “starts at around $200 per month,” customized to your needs, with a results guarantee. Caliber sells it through a consultation on its website, not as an App Store purchase.312
How much does Hevy Pro cost?
$2.99/month, $23.99/year or $74.99 once for lifetime access on the US App Store; a $3.99 monthly SKU also appears on the listing.2 Hevy Trainer, unlimited routines, unlimited custom exercises and all-time graphs come with Pro.856
Does Caliber have an Apple Watch app?
Caliber’s App Store listing does not include Apple Watch among its supported devices. It syncs data from your watch through Apple Health instead. Hevy and Strong both have standalone Apple Watch apps.1215
Is Caliber available on Android?
Yes. Caliber is on Google Play, rated 4.6 from about 4,100 reviews with 500,000+ installs, and syncs with Health Connect.10
Does Hevy or Caliber use AI?
Both connect to general AI assistants instead of running their own AI coach. Caliber added an MCP server for ChatGPT and Claude in July 2026; Hevy has a free Hevy app for ChatGPT and a button to send workouts to ChatGPT or Claude. Hevy Trainer is an algorithm, not AI.1148
Who founded Caliber?
Caliber Fitness was founded in 2017; its co-founder and CEO is Jared Cluff. The company raised a $2.2 million seed round led by Trinity Ventures in 2020.2621
The bottom line
Hevy and Caliber aren’t really competing for the same lifter. Hevy is the best-value tracker for people who already know what they’re doing. Caliber is a way to get someone else’s expertise, first in a template, then in a person.
If you’ve been writing your own program and it’s working, stay in Hevy. If the honest problem is that you don’t know what to do next, a better logger won’t solve it. A plan will, and so will a coach, whether that coach is a person, a template or software.
References
Footnotes
-
Caliber Fitness, Inc. “Caliber: Strength Training.” Apple App Store listing (id1482405410), version 5.16.1 — free, Caliber Plus and Premium Coaching features; in-app purchases Caliber Plus $9.00/$12.00 monthly and $36.00/$54.00/$72.00 yearly, Caliber Supporter $3.00 monthly; 4.8 rating from 6K ratings; iPhone-only on iOS; version history (workout export Oct 6, 2025; Strava strength upload Dec 22, 2025; Progress revamp May 13, 2026; MCP server for ChatGPT and Claude Jul 20, 2026). Accessed September 24, 2026. https://apps.apple.com/us/app/caliber-strength-training/id1482405410 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14 ↩15 ↩16 ↩17 ↩18 ↩19 ↩20 ↩21 ↩22 ↩23 ↩24 ↩25 ↩26 ↩27 ↩28 ↩29 ↩30 ↩31 ↩32 ↩33 ↩34 ↩35 ↩36 ↩37 ↩38 ↩39 ↩40 ↩41 ↩42 ↩43 ↩44 ↩45 ↩46 ↩47 ↩48 ↩49
-
Hevy Studios S.L. “Hevy - Workout Tracker Gym Log.” Apple App Store listing (id1458862350), version 3.1.15 — Hevy Pro $2.99 and $3.99 monthly, $23.99 yearly, $74.99 lifetime; 4.9 rating from 94K ratings; Apple Watch features; Apple Health export; version 3.1.12 (September 3, 2026) send-to-ChatGPT-and-Claude button. Accessed September 24, 2026. https://apps.apple.com/us/app/hevy-workout-tracker-gym-log/id1458862350 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14 ↩15 ↩16 ↩17 ↩18 ↩19 ↩20 ↩21 ↩22 ↩23 ↩24 ↩25
-
Caliber Fitness, Inc. “Caliber Signup.” Coaching consultation flow: “The coaching is structured as a 3 month program and the price starts at around $200 per month”; results guarantee; HSA/FSA eligibility. Internet Archive capture of March 3, 2026, accessed September 2026. https://web.archive.org/web/20260303142709/https://caliberstrong.com/signup/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8
-
Hevy Studios. “Hevy - The #1 Workout Tracker & Gym Logger App.” Web app at hevy.com; Hevy Coach software for personal trainers; 16+ million athletes (company figure). Accessed September 24, 2026. https://www.hevyapp.com/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
Hevy Studios. “How to Use Hevy: Log Workouts, Track Progress & Socialize.” Up to four routines on the free plan; free plan limited to seven custom exercises. Accessed September 24, 2026. https://www.hevyapp.com/hevy-tutorial/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
Hevy Studios. “Gym Performance Tracking (Tools, Graphs & Statistics).” Free graphs display data from three months back; Pro lists all-time data. Accessed September 24, 2026. https://www.hevyapp.com/features/gym-performance/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
Hevy Studios. “Explore and Use the Exercise Library to Build Workouts.” 400+ exercises; up to seven custom exercises free, unlimited on Pro. Accessed September 24, 2026. https://www.hevyapp.com/features/exercise-library/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7
-
Hevy Studios. “Hevy Trainer: Adaptive Strength Programming System.” Pro-only; onboarding inputs; progression rule. Accessed September 24, 2026. https://www.hevyapp.com/features/workout-plan-generator/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7
-
Hevy Studios S.L. “Hevy - Gym Log Workout Tracker.” Google Play listing (com.hevy) — 4.9 rating from ~269K reviews, 5M+ downloads, Wear OS app; updated September 17, 2026. Accessed September 24, 2026. https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.hevy ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
Caliber Fitness, Inc. “Caliber Strength Training.” Google Play listing (com.caliberfitness.app) — 4.6 rating from ~4.1K reviews, 500K+ downloads, Health Connect support; updated September 4, 2026. Accessed September 24, 2026. https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.caliberfitness.app ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6
-
Schoenfeld BJ, Ogborn D, Krieger JW. “Dose-response relationship between weekly resistance training volume and increases in muscle mass: A systematic review and meta-analysis.” Journal of Sports Sciences, 2017;35(11):1073-1082. PMID: 27433992. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/27433992/ ↩
-
Caliber Fitness, Inc. “Frequently Asked Questions.” Coach vetting (top 1% of applicants), check-in frequency and weekly reviews, video form reviews, response times, 30-day money-back guarantee, payment methods. Internet Archive capture of August 22, 2026, accessed September 2026. https://web.archive.org/web/20260822093721/https://caliberstrong.com/faqs/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
Caliber Fitness, Inc. “Caliber - Best Free Workout App & Gym Tracker.” Coach-designed plans “built for progressive overload,” designed by accredited Caliber coaches; private circles and public communities. Internet Archive capture of August 22, 2026, accessed September 2026. https://web.archive.org/web/20260822093732/https://caliberstrong.com/workout-app/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
Hevy Studios. “Hevy for ChatGPT: Build a Workout Plan & Import it to Hevy.” Hevy app for ChatGPT, free for all users; old HevyGPT sunset. Accessed September 24, 2026. https://www.hevyapp.com/features/hevy-chatgpt/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
Strong Fitness PTE Ltd. “Strong Workout Tracker Gym Log.” Apple App Store listing (id464254577) — free version saves unlimited workouts, limited to 3 custom routines; Strong PRO $4.99/month, $29.99/year, $99.99 forever (discounted SKUs also listed); Apple Watch app; 4.9 rating from 109K ratings. Accessed September 24, 2026. https://apps.apple.com/us/app/strong-workout-tracker-gym-log/id464254577 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8
-
Jefit, Inc. “JEFIT Workout Plan Gym Tracker.” Apple App Store listing (id449810000) — Elite $12.99 monthly, $69.99 yearly (legacy and discounted SKUs also listed); 1,400+ exercises; custom workouts and exercises; 4.8 rating from 47K ratings. Accessed September 24, 2026. https://apps.apple.com/us/app/jefit-gym-workout-plan-log/id449810000 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7
-
Zourdos MC, Klemp A, Dolan C, Quiles JM, Schau KA, Jo E, Helms E, Esgro B, Duncan S, Garcia Merino S, Blanco R. “Novel Resistance Training-Specific Rating of Perceived Exertion Scale Measuring Repetitions in Reserve.” Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research, 2016;30(1):267-275. PMID: 26049792. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/26049792/ ↩
-
Mazzetti SA, Kraemer WJ, Volek JS, Duncan ND, Ratamess NA, Gómez AL, Newton RU, Häkkinen K, Fleck SJ. “The influence of direct supervision of resistance training on strength performance.” Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise, 2000;32(6):1175-1184. PMID: 10862549. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/10862549/ ↩ ↩2
-
Ratamess NA, Faigenbaum AD, Hoffman JR, Kang J. “Self-selected resistance training intensity in healthy women: the influence of a personal trainer.” Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research, 2008;22(1):103-111. PMID: 18296962. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/18296962/ ↩
-
Lacroix A, Hortobágyi T, Beurskens R, Granacher U. “Effects of Supervised vs. Unsupervised Training Programs on Balance and Muscle Strength in Older Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.” Sports Medicine, 2017;47(11):2341-2361. PMID: 28573401. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28573401/ ↩
-
Crook J. “Caliber, with $2.2 million in seed funding, launches a fitness coaching platform.” TechCrunch, October 13, 2020. https://techcrunch.com/2020/10/13/caliber-with-2-2-million-in-seed-funding-launches-a-fitness-coaching-platform/ ↩ ↩2
-
Caliber Fitness, Inc. “Connected Apps and Data Syncing User Guide.” Caliber Help Center — Cronometer, MyFitnessPal and FatSecret connections; Garmin via Apple Health; Google Fit on Android. Accessed September 24, 2026. https://caliberstrong.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/48001257617-connected-apps-and-data-syncing-user-guide ↩ ↩2
-
Origami, Inc. “SensAI: Fitness Sensei.” Apple App Store listing (id6738963099) — SensAI Premium $6.99 monthly, $69.99 yearly; 7-day free trial; iPhone and Apple Watch; coach uses Apple Health data including HRV, sleep and resting heart rate; works with Apple Watch, Garmin, Oura and WHOOP via Apple Health; 4.6 rating from 34 ratings. Accessed September 24, 2026. https://apps.apple.com/us/app/sensai-fitness-sensei/id6738963099 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
Fitbod, Inc. “Fitbod: Gym & Fitness Planner.” Apple App Store listing (id1041517543) — $15.99 monthly, $95.99 yearly (discounted and legacy SKUs also listed); subscription after free trial; 1,000+ exercises; 4.8 rating from 285K ratings. Accessed September 24, 2026. https://apps.apple.com/us/app/fitbod-gym-fitness-planner/id1041517543 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
Romeo A, Edney S, Plotnikoff R, Curtis R, Ryan J, Sanders I, Crozier A, Maher C. “Can Smartphone Apps Increase Physical Activity? Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.” Journal of Medical Internet Research, 2019;21(3):e12053. PMID: 30888321. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/30888321/ ↩
-
Caliber Fitness, Inc. “About Us.” “Founded in 2017.” Internet Archive capture of August 22, 2026, accessed September 2026. https://web.archive.org/web/20260822093721/https://caliberstrong.com/about-us/ ↩